Posted by: sbarrett | 2010.04.16

Amazing

People never cease to amaze me. Case in point. Today at work I went to get a cup of coffee. There were two people having a conversation… IN FRONT OF THE CUPS! I stood by politely and in short order they got the hint and moved so I could get my cup. Trouble is, they moved RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE COFFEEPOT! Again, I stood patiently for a sec and they moved so I could pour my coffee. Where did they move? Get ready… RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE DOOR!

Things like this make me wonder. What causes us to stop thinking and seeing what is in front of us? I’m guilty of things like this myself, so I feel like I can throw this rock. Is it that google and the Internet are becoming so ingrained in our lives that we can no longer think on our feet? Is it that our lives are so fast paced and complex that simple little things are no longer noticed? Are we so consumed by oursselves and what we are doing at any one time, that all other inputs are lost? I don’t think it’s that we don’t care about people anymore, as it seems lately, people are more polite than they ever have been.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Leave a Reply

Categories

