Posted by: sbarrett | 2008.04.21

A good burger alternative

I just thought I would send in a recipe that I have been making that the family seems to like.  I don’t have a fancy name, just turkey and spinach burgers.  I know, before you start wincing, just read it through ok?   Here is the ingredients:

2 lb ground turkey – 93% if available
1 egg
1/4 to 1/2 cup bread crumbs
about 1/2 block frozen chopped spinach – squeeze out all water
mixed herbs to taste – I use fresh basil, thyme, rosemary, green onion, parsley (can use dried if you don’t have fresh, but its better with fresh)
about 1/4 cup parmesan (I use blend of parm and asiago, Its just what I keep on hand)
about 1/2 to 1 cup shredded mozzarella
salt and pepper
couple tablespoons olive oil (its just good for you)

Measurements are all approximate.  I just put the stuff in a bowl, mix and adjust till it looks nice and marbled and smells great.  Form these in patties as you would hamburger.  I usually try to make a overly large batch and freeze half of them as it can save time later on a hectic day.  Then either fry or grill as you would your standard issue burger.  Even the kids like these and it is a great way for them to get some healthy deep green veggies.

Hope you like…

Leave a Reply

Categories

