Posted by: sbarrett | 2006.07.26

Listening to podcasts

Just a quick note on me and podcasting. I have pretty much given up on radio. It seems like there is nothing good on anymore. The music is all the same. I do like NPR programs, and when I worked 1st shift, it was great. I could listen to Morning Edition on my way to work and All Things Considered on my way home.  I am on 2nd now, and there is nothing I like on then. The music channels are all pretty much junk, as they play the same thing over and over and over and over…

I subscribe to about 15 shows on food, wine, tech subjects, and a few of the NPR programs thrown in too. I send them to my MP3 player (a Creative Muvo^2 with 1GB of flash) on a weekly basis and listen to these on my way to work, when mowing the lawn, sitting in the backyard, as I get ready for bed. Pretty much any time that I can get quiet and I want something to do to escape a bit. You can listen to them on your computer or put them on a cd/dvd for playback as either audio files or as mp3 files on a player that is capable of this.

I’ll jot a few notes on my favorite podcasts in another post.

If you have not looked into podcasts, I highly recommend them. You can find them in pretty much any topic you can think of. I mean, come on… If you are interested, chances are someone else out there is too. There are quite a few directories available (just google for them). I tend to use podcast alley for my searches. You will also need a podcatching program, to automate the download and collection of shows. I use Juice for windows.

Read the wikipedia article, do a little googling and grab a podcast. I am sure you will find something you like.

Leave a Reply

Categories

